144 posts categorized "MOVIE REVIEW"

May 27 2014
Need To Know: Instastuds + Saw, Too + HEART Attacked & Praised + Swear-In Closets + Hot Jocks + MORE! Comments (0)

Edward-WildingHis expression says, “I know...right???”

*widget boy cultureMale models Instagramming in their undies.

*widget boy cultureMad Men's other brother.

*widget boy cultureJapanese pop group AKB48 attacked by saw-bearing fan.

*widget boy cultureFacebook director slams media in epic rant.

*widget boy cultureKanye's wedding speech was puke-inducingly narcissistic.

*widget boy culturePro Normal Heart review: “Sometimes yelling is required.”

*widget boy culturePro Normal Heart review: Bomer & Parsons rule, shoulda been a miniseries.

*widget boy culturePositive Normal Heart review: “...for mostly better, sometimes worse...”

The-normal-heart-matthew-bomer-mark-ruffalo_article_story_largeHeart monitored

*widget boy cultureMeh Normal Heart review: Characters die too fast. (Um, hello?)

*widget boy cultureMeh Normal Heart review: Good acting, bad directing.

*widget boy cultureB- Normal Heart review: “AIDS isn't the public health issue it once was.”

*widget boy cultureNormal Heart slam: Bad timing? Too much man-on-man sex?

*widget boy cultureElton John: “Today, as ever, silence equals death.”

*widget boy cultureIllinois has a long tradition of Republican closet cases.

*widget boy cultureIt's always a good moment to see Hugh Jackman's butt.

*widget boy cultureBieber gives $545,000 to AIDS research.

*widget boy cultureRugby players are rather attractive, don't you think?

Rugby-shirtlessRugger buggers

 
May 16 2014
Need To Know: Mister Graaant Gustin + PrEP Squad + Military Meat + GRACE Hits A Bump In The Road + She Can Twerk It Out + MORE! Comments (0)

*widget boy cultureABOVE: Extended The Flash trailer, starring Grant Gustin...who I spoke to!

*widget boy cultureCDC is pro-PrEP—is this “the HIV breakthrough we've been waiting for?”

*widget boy cultureCher & Bruce Jenner reportedly dating. So rich on so many levels.

*widget boy cultureMilitary dudes with socks on their cocks.

*widget boy cultureIs Barnes & Noble about to come to THE END?

*widget boy cultureGrace of Monaco is apparently even worse than it looks.

*widget boy cultureEllen DeGeneres & her '70s prom date reunite.

*widget boy cultureRicky Martin gets pampered on Instagram:

Ricky-Martin-shirtlessI always suspected Ricky Martin adored facials!

*widget boy cultureIdaho equality is on hold...for now, full speed ahead in Arkansas.

*widget boy cultureIs Miley more popular than Jesus?

*widget boy cultureNASCAR fans' tribute to RuPaul quotes.

*widget boy cultureGoffney Twin, former gay porn actor & thief, is out of prison, not out of excuses.

*widget boy cultureBeyoncé, Jay-Z and Solange are “moving on as a family.”

*widget boy cultureWatch this attack cat make mincemeat of a wayward guard dog.

*widget boy culturePrince Harry's 1st-ever tweet.

*widget boy cultureDebbie Harry vs. Solange & Rush Limbaugh:

 
Mar 31 2014
Picture Perfect: A Review Of FINDING VIVIAN MAIER Comments (0)

Vivian-MaierMaier produced countless self-portraits, some as arresting as anything Kahlo painted.

BOY CULTURE REVIEW: **** out of ****

Finding-vivian-mayer-poster-mVivian Maier died in a Chicago nursing home in 2009 in her eighties without ever having published her work, without ever having seen thousands of the images she shot and without owning a single negative—everything had been unceremoniously sold at auction along with the rest of her worldly possessions for a few hundred bucks a box once she was injured in a fall. Cheap, considering she had taken well over 100,000 images with her trusty, stealthy Rolleiflex from the late 1940s until some time in the 1990s.

When a historian and second-generation flea marketer, John Maloof, started scanning some of the negatives he'd bought in 2007, he sensed they were good. How good, he wasn't sure. Until posting a batch on Flickr, when users flipped out, reassuring him he had unearthed the work of a brilliant photographer. He bought up as much of Maier's output from other buyers as he could, eventually winding up with about 90% of it. Next, he began cataloguing everything—no easy task since Maier, about whom he knew absolutely nothing, had apparently been a packrat.

Vivian-Maier-girlMaier seemed able to pull exquisitely relaxed, soulful poses...when she bothered to ask.

When her obituary pinged his Google search in 2009, Maloof learned a bit more about Maier—she'd been a nanny, a private figure, French.

But what else? And had she seen herself as an artist?

 Read More

 
Mar 21 2014
Let's Hear It For JOY: A Review Of BIG JOY Comments (0)

BIGJOY_5

BOY CULTURE REVIEW: *** out of ****

Screening in NYC March 21—23 at Anthology Film Archives, Big Joy: The Adventures of James Broughton should be required viewing for young LGBT people. Not because he is the most important gay figure in our pantheon (though he's certainly a pioneer in film and poetry), but because he is the type of original character we don't seem to be able to produce anymore.

 Read More

 
Feb 14 2014
Magical Unrealness: A Review Of WINTER'S TALE Comments (0)

Winters-tale-colin-farrell1I don't believe that Farrell really respects the ridiculous movie in which he stars.

BOY CULTURE REVIEW: * out of ****

One of the dumbest movies I've sat through in 100 years is Akiva Goldsman's embarrassing adaptation of what I may unfairly presume to be Mark Helprin's equally inspid novel, Winter's Tale. What's dumb about it? What isn't? It opens with Matt Bomer (let's just call them all by their real names; this movie is one of the most ostentatiously casted all-star films since those movies in the '70s about crashing planes or killer bees) and his wife at Ellis Island being sent back to Europe thanks to pulmonary issues, only to decide to give their infant son a better chance at life...by placing him in a toy boat and lowering it into the ocean, hoping it would not capsize before delivering him safely to NYC.

What fate awaited them back home that could have been worse than near-certain death by drowning in the icy Atlantic, I don't know.

 Read More

 
Feb 03 2014
Sundance Reviewed Comments (0)

Primary_RogerFramedHandsGraceWang_creditIf only Ebert were around to review his own movie...

A friend went to Sundance and generously contributes all of his views on many of the films...

 Read More

 
Dec 20 2013
Oscar Watch: AMERICAN HUSTLE, SAVING MR. BANKS & NEBRASKA Comments (0)

American-HustleDo the hustle!

I've been remiss in assessing the movies most likely to achieve Oscar gold in early '14, mainly because I've been busy working, doing outside writing and actually watching the things! But a mini-update:

American Hustle by David O. Russell American-hustle-picture-1-07292013-180655

David O. Russell can do no wrong. Well, yes he can—he did the excruciating I Heart Huckabees (2004) and almost gave Lily Tomlin a coronary. Other than that, he's made a series of sensational
films, the most recent of which—Silver Linings Playbook (2012) and The Fighter (2010)—were among the most Oscar-nominated films of their respective years.

With American Hustle, Russell is disco-dancing right back into the heart of awards season by offering a cheeky semi-reality show about a balding con man (Christian Bale), his eager accomplice (Amy Adams), his long-suffering wife (Jennifer Lawrence), a relentless government agent (Bradley Cooper) and the Jersey mayor destined to pay a pretty price for believing the guy (Jeremy Renner). It's all set in the '70s, a darkly funny fairy tale set in the era of Abscam, but much more about one man's relationship with his fellow man...and especially with his fellow woman.

 Read More

 
Dec 02 2013
Boy Culture Turns 8: My 100 Favorite Posts! Comments (0)

BoyCultureBlogYou need a little (Boy) Culture!

StripperIt blows my mind to realize that Boy Culture is now eight years old. I can still remember the joy I felt when I figured out how to post, how to upload an image and how to embed a video. I remember every time a post blew up, bringing in hits and new viewers. I remember the longtime commenters, the trolls, the spam and the never-ending (and validating!) pitches and free tickets and photographers' snaps of half- or all-naked male models. 

RuPaul-Drag-RaceShooting for my blog has never been a drag.

Cone-boyI've used Boy Culture to express myself, to help express others and to connect to people internationally.

I've also used it to show off my humor (both high and low), to flaunt my obsessions, to reality-test my sexual diversions and perversions, to laud the art I love, to lash out against the enemies of gay people and to broadcast my admiration for Madonna.

I want to thank you all for having read this blog over the years. It's a very hard thing to maintain, and it will not be maintained forever. But each time I get some positive (or even just meaningful) feedback, each time my posts are shared on social media, each time something I've written elicits a response, it keeps me going that much longer.

Madonna-stepmother-Joan-MDNAMadonna's stepmother was not impressed.

Thank you. Please enjoy my 100 favorite posts, please let me know if you're reading any old ones for the first time and are liking them and, most of all, please share this entire post far and wide to help get my work out there.

**2008 first one 6a00d8341c2ca253ef00e54fdddbfd8833-800wiMy first "Guydar" post from 2008.

As always, you can find me on Facebook (personal and blog), Twitter, Instagram and YouTube (plus, here are my YouTube greatest hits). 

ALL ORANGE TITLES ARE HOTLINKS.

********************

#100

TOTALLY RANDOM LISTS (2011—2013)

I've gotten way into lists. Way. You'll find more of my lists higher up on, uh, this particular list. But the ones that are just completely random go here because I worked my ass off on them, because I love them and because—judging from Quantcast data—you like 'em, too.

********************

DuranMy favorite Duran Duran member.

POP QUIZ: VIDEOS THAT KILLED (2011)

Totally awesome '80s! Take this visual quiz to see how many classic music videos you can ID.

********************

Brando-DeanI wish sex tapes had existed in the '50s.

UNDER THE GAYDAR: 10 PEOPLE YOU MAY OR MAY NOT REALIZE WERE OR ARE QUEER (2012)

I got lots of feedback on this, mainly because nobody realized Nell Carter was with a woman at the time of her death.

********************

DazzlerI would've chipped in to get this one made.

WOULDA COULDA SHOULDA: 5 INCREDIBLE MOVIES THAT NEVER HAPPENED (2013)

I'm shamless for including Leda & Swan, a movie that was a bomb without ever even being made.

********************

Lizabeth-ScottGreat Scott!

IN & OUT: 25 STARS' FIRST & LAST PERFORMANCES IN FILM & ON TV (2013)

Being obsessed with nostalgia and with movies, this was fun—but so very taxing—to compile. I loved the randomness of it.

********************

PSBI hate that music has been sleeveless for 20 years.

20 7" SINGLE SLEEVES FROM THE '80S THAT BELONG IN A GALLERY (2013)

Just 20 from my massive collection of 45s. I got rid of my 12" records, but I've kept these guys because they're just too much a part of my childhood.

********************

Amanda-BlakeAmanda Blake's marriage was a mystery, with both spouses dying of AIDS.

GAY MARRIAGE: CELEBRITIES WHO MARRIED LGBT SPOUSES (2013)

It might've been more efficient to make a list of famous straight people who managed to marry other full-on heteros.

********************

Mark-MessierThe infamous Gary Coleman/Mark Messier two-shot seen 'round the world.

ODD COUPLES: 19 UNUSUAL CELEBRITY PAIRS (2013)

This post encapsulates my outlook on pop culture and my desire to twist it and play with it...except in this case, its participants are already doing the dirty work.

********************

Lake-GenevaHaunted House: The family home that haunted Jane and Bill's final years.

#99

A FIGHT AT THE MUSEUM (2007)

My late mentor's husband struggles to give away his family home.

********************

#98

POLITICS (2005—2013)

I'm a political person and I blog about it a lot. Some of the entries stand up over time, but many are so of the moment it was hard to pull the ones I like best.

******************** 

Kevin-James-Adam-SandlerWhere Kevin James goes, (unintentional!!!) homophobia follows.

TRUNZO IS DUNZO (2007)

Star Magazine implying gay people aren't quite right? Not normal! This took off on several blogs and GLAAD got an apology from Trunzo over it. Some people think it's being "oversensitive," but Jesus...how much clearer is "Man to man" with a huge "NOT" (NORMAL) stamped over it?

 ****************

John-McCainIf McCain calls, I'm not here. 

NEW YORK TO McCAIN: DROP DEAD! (2008)

The time I saw John McCain and showed him exactly how I felt. 

**************** 

6a00d8341c2ca253ef00e54fdcda278833-800wiThe Clintons practice some black magic 

WHITE MISCHIEF (2008)

When Bill and Hillary decided to use race in the race for the White House.

******************** 

Jason-WetheringtonCrist for the mill 

FLORIDA'S GOVERNOR ENGAYGED: DOES THIS COUNT AS "GAY MARRIAGE?" (2008)

Charlie Crist is gay. Really, really gay.

******************** 

Hillary-Clinton-guysThere's always 2016... 

HOW DO I LOVE THEE? LET ME COUNT THE GAYS... (2008)

The gay affair with Hillary Clinton.

******************** 

6a00d8341c2ca253ef00e554e2e7d28834Hail, Mary, full of disgrace

 SARAH PALIN = SPIRO AGNEW + HARRIET MIERS (2008)

Aw, she'll never last...

******************** 

Whoopi-Goldberg-Prop-8Whoopi-tee-doo & Kate, too! 

THE MARRYING KIND (2008)

That fabulously spontaneous anti-Prop 8 march in NYC.

******************** 

Barack-Obama"Fierce advocate" was once a taunt, and is now just true.

WITH US OR AGAINST US (2009)

A post from when the Obama Administration was considered almost openly hostile toward gay-rights advocates. I believe he's turned that impression around.

********************

OBAMA-DADTA good sign

IT GOT BETTER (2010)

The one where President Obama happily signed DADT out of existence.

********************

Sophie-B-HawkinsAs she lays her career down to sleep...

DAMN, I WISH SHE WOULDN'T DO THISI (2011)

Sopie B. Hawkins GOesProud. I wish she'd GOHome.

********************

Merv-Griffin-Tombstone_6I live for death!

#97

OBITUARIES (2009—2012)

I tend to write about almost every celebrity death I hear about, specializing in anyone from the Golden Era. These are two that really blew me away. You, too?

********************

Farrah-FawcettVery hazardous duties

AND JILL CAME TUMBLING AFTER (2009)

The death of Farrah Fawcett, a woman whose nips decorated my walls before I realized I had no use for them.

********************

Elizabeth-taylor-bathing-suitEnd credits

REFLECTIONS IN A VIOLET EYE: ELIZABETH TAYLOR DIES AT 79 (2011)

The biggest living star fades out. It's still hard to believe she isn't around anymore.

********************

Donna-SummerShe worked hard for the money.

LAST DANCE: DONNA SUMMER DIES AT 63 (2012)

I'd spent a long time hating Donna over her alleged anti-gay comments, but that rumor isn't the whole story on her life.

********************

Barbara-KentGood egg

MAKES SAD FACE, MOVES LIPS, TYPE APPEARS ON PANEL: "THE END" (2012)

I was surprised when no major news services noted the death of the last person to have starred in a silent film as an adult, Barbara Kent.

 Read More

 
Nov 22 2013
Superior Mother: A Review Of PHILOMENA Comments (0)

PhilomenaLooking for mother love in all the wrong places.

Lots of people who care about these things think Meryl Streep is the finest current actress. I don't think they're ridiculously wrong, and both women are locks for Oscar nominations this year, but I do think Dame Judi Dench could silent-act Ms. Streep right out of any role they were both up for; Judi-Dench-in-Philomena-009there is just something expansive and open about Dench's face at rest. In any role, from something as inconsequential and fun as her turns in the Bond films to something as emotional as her title role in Philomena, Dench seems to be able to telegraph the complex (or simple) thoughts of the characters she plays, seemingly with no effort at all.

Philomena is the latest opportunity for Dench to dazzle. It is the unfortunately true story of an woman in her sixties who has a 50-year-old secret: She became pregnant as a teenager and had the child in a convent, the sisters of which forced her to give him up when he was a toddler. The Catholic Church won't be thrilled at how evil these goddamn nuns were, but it's hard to complain when the story is presenting something that actually happened.

Philomena-starrying-Judi-Dench-and-Steve-Coogan-2670221Any human kindness around? Nope...nun.

With the help of her daughter, Philomena enlists the aid of a disgraced former public official from the Blair regime (a brilliant Steve Coogan, who co-wrote the script). A former journalist, the remarkably cynical (and not infrequently rude) man is convinced to help Philomena find her now 50-year-old son on the dime of a tabloid. After all, it has every good angle: A desperate old lady, a missing kid, evil nuns. And as his editor tells him, it doesn't matter if the story ends happily or sadly, as long as it's intensely one or the other.

You would benefit greatly from avoiding trailers and clips from this film; the main one being used completely gives away a major plot twist. The audience I saw it with apparently hadn't seen that, because they gasped when it was revealed. They also wept a lot (three times for me), the film is so touchingly and intimately acted and presented (director Stephen Frears can do almost no wrong).

The interplay between naive (but not entirely!), optimistic, God-fearing Philomena and her hard-nosed reporter is memorably sweet, prickly and real, and the film's ending packs a mighty punch—all the more so when you realize this shit really happened. Speaking of punches, you may be tempted to punch a nun after seeing this, but restrain yourself—they can't all be this wicked.

And—praise God!—watch for a knock-out, albeit brief, Mare Winningham appearance. Her role was necessarily brief, but she makes the most of it.

Don't miss Philomena, which recently won its battle with the MPAA to be rated PG-13 instead of R over a couple of richly-deserved F-bombs. If it helps, keep in mind the movie does have a gay angle—and it's more than just, "Squee! Judi Dench is divine!" Although that should be enough.

 
Oct 21 2013
Divinity School: A Review of I AM DIVINE! Comments (0)

DIvine-split-imageThe filthiest woman dead: Divine.

I Am Divine!, the latest inspired queer documentary by Jeffrey Schwarz (Wrangler: Anatomy of an Icon, Vito) opens with footage from the premiere of the film Hairspray in Baltimore. In it, Divine is intereviewed, gushing about how happy the night was making him. "I'm loving every minute of it!" he says, unaware he would be dead within days.

DIvine-John-WatersDivine and John Waters as teens, when their creative partnership was formed.

It's a bittersweet start to an otherwise ebullient documentation of a singular film icon, a punk drag artist with humor who was simultaneously the most beautiful "woman" in the world and the filthiest person alive. And underneath it all, "she" was also a mousy boy from Baltimore who unironically worshiped Elizabeth Taylor and longed for stardom.

 Read More