Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger... boy culture: MOVIE REVIEW

44 posts categorized "MOVIE REVIEW"

May 14 2017
6-PACK — Pit-ifully Hot + Eurovision Flasher + Cyndi Lauper's House Sale + Justice For Joseph Comunale? + Anti-Gay COC Wench + SNATCHED Getting Snatched By Reviewers! Comments (0)

Jared-North-NudeCrew pit (Cropped image via Wagner L.A.)

WIDGETOMG Blog: Season 9 RuPaul's Drag Race pit crew member Jared North bares all.

WIDGETDListed: A young guy bared his buns during a Eurovision Song Contest performance before being dragged from the stage. The performer's voice never cracked.

WIDGETKenneth in the (212): Cyndi Lauper's selling a pricy home while living for peanuts in NYC, plus: Will fans buy her son's rapper persona?

JOseph-ComunaleThe late Joseph Comunale was murdered, possibly over a drink. (Image via CrimeWatchDaily.com)

WIDGETCrime Watch Daily: Two men charged with murder in bizarre killing of Joseph Comunale. One is a famous male jeweler's “surrogate son.” Mm-hm.

WIDGETO&AN: A Nashville-area Chamber of Commerce member posted an anti-“LGBT blah blah blah..,WHATEVER!” Facebook rant when her fave show was cancelled.

WIDGETTowleroad: Gay review of Snatched reveals this comedy is no laughing matter. Still, the movie fared better than Guy Ritchie's King Arthur ... yikes.

Snatched(Image via 20th Century Fox)

 
May 06 2017
BOMBSHELL Revelations: Q&A @ Tribeca Comments (0)

6a00d8341c2ca253ef01b8d27dffd0970c-800wi(Image by Matthew Rettenmund)

Check out most of the Q&A following the screening of Bombshell: The Hedy Lamarr Story at Tribeca on April 27, 2017.

My Review of Bombshell Here!

I was far away, but it's audible if you turn it up.

The people are Anthony Loder (Lamarr's son) and Alexandra Dean (the film's tireless director).

Keep reading for the video ...

 Read More

 
May 01 2017
Blowing Up Her Image — A Review Of BOMBSHELL: THE HEDY LAMARR STORY Comments (0)
 

#Repost @platinumbl0ndie ・・・ Got a proper case for my new phone finally ❤️ #HedyLamarr #wifi @alejandromogolloart @redbubble

A post shared by Alejandro Mogollo (@alejandromogolloart) on

If you're old enough to know who Hedy Lamarr (1914-2000) was, her name probably conjures a handful of things: Great beauty, skinny-dipping, many husbands, Harvey Korman's Hedley Lamarr character in Blazing Saddles (1974), a shoplifting scandal.

Hedy-LamarrLiterally, more than a pretty face

After viewing director Alexandra Dean's Bombshell: The Hedy Lamarr Story, you'll never think of this woman the same way again, and anyone being introduced to Lamarr via this film will have the advantage of knowing a much truer picture of Lamarr than the Hollywood image she herself despised.

There is a reason the production company for this effort — which boasts Susan Sarandon as a producer — is entitled Reframed Pictures.

“Here is the role model everyone thinks doesn't exist. And she's a movie star! I knew it had to be my next project.” — Director Alexandra Dean on Hedy Lamarr

The film, beautifully shot and edited with great care to form a compelling narrative, covers the 2fd0ecba53b72827bd3573bd2f3624cc most important aspects of the Austrian actress's career, including her infamous nude swimming scene in 1933's Ecstasy, triumphs in films like Ziegfeld Girl (1941) and Samson and Delilah (1949), the self-parodying of popular pap like White Cargo (1942), and her pioneering efforts as a producer of her own work with Loves of Three Queens (1954).

However, the doc's main focus is not to ooh and ahh over her remarkable beauty as a movie queen, but to show how her good looks held Lamarr back from the field in which she probably belonged — science.

Dismissed as a hot piece willing to disrobe on camera, Lamarr was in fact a cerebral woman whose mind worked like that of a trained scientist. Thanks to newly rediscovered audio tapes of a Forbes interview the by-then reclusive Lamarr gave Fleming Meeks, we are treated to hearing how she analyzed even simple subjects (you'll never forget her shading water wings), and we are also IMG_7253given ample reason to believe that Lamarr was not only a beauty with a brain, but was responsible for one of the last century's most important inventions — frequency hopping.

During World War II, Lamarr was troubled by how indestructible German ships seemed to be, and decided to devise a way for the Allies to create torpedoes that couldn't be stopped or tracked. Realizing the Germans would jam all frequencies to make torpedoes less accurate, she invented the idea of frequency hopping — sending torpedoes using an indecipherable series of codes on different frequencies — with the help of her musican friend George Antheil (1900-1959), who came up with the idea of adding player-piano tech to the concept. They were granted a patent in 1942, but the idea was snatched by the military and the inventors were never kept apprised of its application, which began within 20 years, and which is now recognized as the foundation of such indispensable innovations as Bluetooth, CDMA and Wi-Fi.

They were never paid a dime.

In the film, we hear Lamarr circa 1990 casually say inventing things came easy to her, but it is apparent nothing else did. Pigeon-holed as a shallow beauty, she was pushed to sell war bonds via kissing soldiers and showing leg, even though she'd invented something that might have ended the war had it been taken more seriously sooner. 

“I want to be a ... very simple, complicated person!” — Actress/Inventor Hedy Lamarr (1969)

Her film career languished, her beauty faded (and became garish thanks to multiple excursions into plastic surgery — which she also pioneered, by coaxing doctors to try new techniques on her famous face and body) and her love relationships with men were nothing short of disastrous. She rarely saw her children for the last 20 years of her life, including her son, Anthony Loder, but Loder became an archivist of his mother's life and work, and a champion for a reassessment of her contributions to science.

 Read More

 
Apr 25 2017
I Was A Teenage Serial Killer: A Review Of MY FRIEND DAHMER Comments (0)

Screen Shot 2017-04-25 at 12.46.40 AMKiller eyes — Ross Lynch as Jeffrey Dahmer (Image via Aperture)

I knew teen heartthrob Ross Lynch back when he was grinning his way through DSC02402edit Disney Channel's Austin & Ally (2011-2016).

I guess I could write a script called My Friend Lynch, but I can guarantee you it wouldn't be as rich as the film My Friend Dahmer, directed by Marc Meyers and adapted from Derf Backderf's graphic novel of the same name, because unlike Dahmer, Ross didn't go on to kill a bunch of people, and because my interaction with him was confined to taking the Teen Beach Movie (2013) cast to brunch during filming and directing a photo shoot of Ross for the teen magazine I edited.

But my dealings with Lynch did partly motivate me to buy tickets to Dahmer at the Tribeca Film Festival, because there is a nostalgia for seeing what happens to people you knew in the past, and how interesting that the tow-headed, moonwalking kid who loved pink underwear and pop was — five years later — making his debut as the lead in a feature film playing one of the most notorious serial killers who ever lived, the Milwaukee Cannibal himself, Jeffrey Dahmer.

 Read More

 
Apr 09 2017
Drawn That Way: A Review Of The Film TOM OF FINLAND Comments (0)

Tom of Finland Physique PictorialAn example of Tom of Finland's early work (Image via Physique Pictorial)

I'm a fan of the art of Touko Laaksonen, so the new film Tom of Finland — Teaser-trailer-tom-of-finland-696x464his professional name as an erotic-art illustrator — was so far up my alley it was practically parked in my garage.

Laaksonen was born in Finland and served in WWII, going on to become a successful ad man thanks to his skill with the pencil. Inspired by mental images of laborers and even by the tight uniforms of the Nazis (with whom he did not sympathize politically), he drew unflinching scenes of muscular macho men engaged in sexual abandon, or merely showing off their assets, dripping with libidinous tension.

He kept his drawings under wraps, learning the hard way (having them stolen, being arrested, facing condemnation) that what he saw as natural was a cause for great alarm in his neck of the woods, and, in fact, most everywhere.

In this new biopic— which has been called Finland's first on gay male love — the story of Touko (played with superb empathy by Pekka Strang) is fleshed out in a compelling, visually stylish and achingly emotional way by acclaimed director Dome Karukoski.

Tom-of-finlandTouko & Nipa — a love story (This and all other images via Protagonist Pictures, unless noted)

Tom of Finland beautifully illustrates Touko's gay awakening, captures the excitement and danger of his sexual trysts and flawlessly conveys the non-monogamous love he finds with a stunning young partner, Nipa (Lauri Tilkanen, who looks like the Garrett Clayton of Finland). Finagling a romance with Nipa aka Veli, also the object of Tom's spinster sister's (Jessica Grabowsky) affection, is portrayed adroitly.

 Read More

 
Mar 03 2017
Hicks Nix Dix Pix: Alabama Drive-In (1) Still Exists, (2) Rejects BEAUTY AND THE BEAST Over Gay LeFou Comments (0)

Lefou-gay-1488572042(Image via Disney)

This is unreal, but an Alabama drive-in's owners have canceled a screening of Beauty and the Beast because it ain't right with God.

Entertainment Weekly reports the Henagar Drive-In posted on Facebook that they were sick of companies that continually force their views on us, and absurdly asserted:

If we can not take our 11-year-old granddaughter and 8-year-old grandson to see a movie we have no business watching it. If I can't sit through a movie with God or Jesus sitting by me then we have no business showing it.

God or Jesus, either one.

These are the people who think liberals live in a bubble?

Here's the post if you feel like goober-trolling:

Meanwhile, Cosmo, which has a lot of great, incisive writing lately, says that director Bill Condon probably goofed by talking about his film's “exclusively gay moment” with LeFou lusting after Gaston — in the words of writer Eliza Thompson, “Disney's first out gay character failed.”

She writes:

... all the chatter seems like nothing but an attempt to add liberal cred to a film without actually doing the work to make it progressive. Beauty and the Beast, a movie that weaves a love story out of forced isolation, could certainly benefit from some updating, but this “exclusively gay moment” doesn’t quite get it done.

Entertainment Weekly gives the film B-.

 
Dec 28 2016
6-PACK — Chris Pratt Would Eat No Fat + George Michael's Legacy + Trump 2nd Most Admired Man In The U.S. + Carrie Fisher's Shooting Star + Coffee Break + RIP Heat Miser! Comments (0)

Shirtless-Chris-Pratt-Pictures(Image via Columbia Pictures)


WIDGETChris Pratt offers his bare buns (Work Unfriendly) in Passengers, which — if you read the reviews — might be the film's sole saving grace.

WIDGETShould George Michael be honored as “a filthy gay fucker?” His boyfriend at the time of his death has a big mouth.

WIDGETSomehow, Trump came in second when Americans were asked who their most admired man is. You can guess #1. Hillary was top female.

WIDGETRe-experience Carrie Fisher's epic Madonna Q&A. Fans honor Carrie with belated star on Hollywood Walk of Fame:

Screen Shot 2016-12-28 at 11.01.46 AMLet's toast Paul Lynde! (Image via Maxwell House/General Foods)

WIDGETRemembering that time Paul Lynde was straight for pay.

WIDGETGeorge S. Irving, comic actor who won the Tony for the Debbie Reynolds production of Irene, dies @ 94. You'll recall his voice from 1974's The Year Without a Santa Claus, in which he played Heat Miser:

 
Oct 21 2016
Teen Breach Movie: A Review Of KING COBRA & Inside The NYC Premiere Comments (0)

DSC00732Christian Slater and writer/director Justin Kelly (Image by Matthew Rettenmund)

Last night was the NYC premiere of the skin-soaked thriller King Cobra, writer/director Justin Kelly's take on the gruesome 2007 murder of porn impresario Bryan Kocis at the hands of rivals Joe Kerekes and Harlow Cuadra, all over the right to use then-newcummer Brent Corrigan in a video.

DSC00736 editHunting Season's Jake Manabat, Marc Sinoway & Tyler French (Image by Matthew Rettenmund)

DSC00734Sinoway, Misha Osherovich, yours truly & Andrew Glaszek (Image courtesy of Matthew Rettenmund)

The premiere, at IFC Center, attracted Kelly; Christian Slater (who stars as Kocis); Younger star Nico Tortorella (whose sexual orientation would make a great thriller in its own right, IMO); Hunting Season stars Marc Sinoway, Jake Manabat and Tyler French; History actor Misha Osherovich; photographer Timothy Greenfield-Sanders; Undetectable and Hustling actor Andrew Glaszek (who years from now will be known as the “It” ginger of NYC); and more.

Following the screening and a lively Q&A (somebody asked Slater if he would try gay porn if he could start his career over), the after-party was held at the Cock, a dive bar that even other dive bars would sneak into to avoid being seen. Which Unnamed means it's tacky, sleazy fun.

Hey, it wasn't the first time in history a star and his director left a screening and headed straight for Cock.

It was great to connect with the other attendees (no, not a euphemism), and to congratulate Slater on a fine performance. I also shook hands with Kelly after having been a disembodied voice on an intercom during a recent Q&A session with the gay media. (Coming.) I fear he hates me because I asked him why he's attracted to non-rah! rah! gay subject matter, considering the fact that King Cobra follows his debut, 2015's I Am Michael, about the XY publisher who went from gay activist to ex-gay activist. It was meant as a compliment.

I wish I could be more complimentary about his earnest King Cobra, but the film is uneven and, like Kocsis, fatally flawed. Then again, like Corrigan, it has an undeniable watchability.

 Read More

 


Ads by Gay Ad Network

TWITTER FEED