90 posts categorized "MUSIC REVIEW"

Apr 09 2014
Better Than Sexxx: A Review Of Lady Gaga @ Roseland (RIP) Comments (0)
Lady GagaImage courtesy of Emaline Tisserand
 
The following review is from Boy Culture reader and my fave Little Monster, Sean O'Connor.
 
It’s been a rough few months as a devoted fan of Lady Gaga.

Her new album ARTPOP was already being called ARTFLOP before anyone had heard it. Despite the fact that “Applause,” the first single, spent 14 weeks in Billboard’s Top Ten, the prevailing wisdom has been that the Lady was over. A disappointing first-week debut on the Billboard charts (albeit at #1) comparable with her contemporaries (but spectacularly far off from the debut of her previous album) seemed to confirm the worst fears of her fans and the joyous predictions of her detractors.

“Do What U Want”—one of the strongest numbers on an unfairly maligned album—proved a non-starter. The misguided decision to work with R. Kelly may have had something to do with this. Gaga’s late remix with Christina Aguilera, an eminently more satisfying version boosted by the fact that the two divas were former rivals, was too late to salvage the song.

Thus we come to her latest single “G.U.Y.” and her residence at Roseland Ballroom to mark the closing of the famous venue. At over 30 million views since its release and on the eve of the single’s official debut on radio, it’s too early to tell how the song will or will not grow. But any thought of being a flop was miles away from Gaga’s performance on Friday, April 4.

She was positively electrifying.

 Read More

 
Mar 10 2014
To Nomi Is To Love Me: A Review Of #TIMEwarped By Warren Nomi Comments (0)

Nomi-#TIMEwarped (album cover) 1600Let's do #TIMEwarped again!

I kind of fell in love with Warren Nomi's debut, retro-charged album #TIMEwarped. Right from the kick-off track, 01 "Falling" (Bjorn Bodin's Strange Mix), which recalls Book of Love with its coyly aching vocal and lush, melodic instrumentation, the whole production has a cohesive, gritty prettiness.

02 "How Did You Know" (Studi0 Matt vs. Nomi EDM Mix) reminds me of Andy Bell vocally, but with an orgiastic Euro-dance beat. The lyrics are sparse, but I didn't miss the verbiage with the urgency of the beat.

Warren-NomiMore laid back, funky even, is 03 "Red Wine Girl" (David Kahne Master Mix), which saucily begins with a disavowal of the concept of a Valentine. Oh, no she din't. Interesting hearing a man using his falsetto which singing about being the listener's red wine girl. I wasn't mad at the little excursion into rap.

04 "Tease Me" (Rock Me Remix) has a surprising '70s-rock vibe (well, Nomi does recall Lindsey Buckingham in some of his promo shots). It didn't thrill me until the chorus, which is pretty undeniable.

I would pick out 05 "Live Out Loud" as a possible single. It's so Cher! Just an easy listen.

06 "This Summer I" gets seriously beautiful after an initial sort of soundstorm in the beginning (never a fan of answering-machine appearances in songs), before reverting to a mass of (presumably) found spoken-word components. The denouement works better than the intro in that regard.

 Read More

 
Jan 29 2014
Like 2 Rhinestone Cowgirls: Madonna & Miley Shimmy & Shine Comments (0)

Madonna-MileyImage from one of the best Madonna Tumblrs alive.

If Madonna didn't look pretty damn good to you in Miley's Unplugged special, I'm not sure what you expect from a 55-year-old hussy. I thought she looked great, and they sounded good together and had fun. Miley was so excited, which was infectious. I love that Madonna just humbly jumped up and did it with no diva entrance. That half-broken foot must have been killing her.

 Read More

 
Dec 28 2013
Need To Know: Putting The Nasty In DUCK DYNASTY, Turing And After, Stumped Speech, Straight Talk + MORE! Comments (0)

Tumblr_inline_mo5nolV6OI1qz4rgpAs was expected from the beginning, this was a huge win for cretins everywhere.

*widget boy cultureA&E wimps out, reinstates Phil Robertson, provides lip service to diversity.

*widget boy cultureA little light reading: 1,000s of Newtown Massacre docs released.

*widget boy cultureGay codebreaker Alan Turing's corpse gets a pardon.

*widget boy cultureI know why the caged popstar doesn't sing.

*widget boy cultureThe ultimate dialect quiz. Hint: Merry, marry & Mary RHYME.

*widget boy cultureIwan Rheon's beauty is a thing.

Anigif_enhanced-buzz-22605-1380907733-28Just Iwan me, kid.

*widget boy cultureA peek at the animated features of 2014.

*widget boy cultureNorth West has more shoes than her parents have brain cells.

*widget boy cultureCelebrating the holidays with sexxxy underwear.

*widget boy cultureThe (surprisingly busy) year in Madonna.

*widget boy cultureWe totally won on gay marriage. Totally.

*widget boy cultureAre gay-for-pay guys really straight?

Reese-rideout-vh1Remember, they're gay for the pay, not gay for the gays.

 
Dec 27 2013
The Not-A-Peep Show Comments (0)

Britney-Spears

Despite the lip-synching jab in my title (hey, even her most ardent fan pointed out it's "painfully" obvious there is way more track than Brit-Brit in the show!), the first review of Britney's Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino residency is breathlessly enthusiastic. Even if it is written by her fan club, it's thorough and does a good job of making the show sound like the opposite of Wayne Newton.

Are you going?

 
Dec 02 2013
Boy Culture Turns 8: My 100 Favorite Posts! Comments (0)

BoyCultureBlogYou need a little (Boy) Culture!

StripperIt blows my mind to realize that Boy Culture is now eight years old. I can still remember the joy I felt when I figured out how to post, how to upload an image and how to embed a video. I remember every time a post blew up, bringing in hits and new viewers. I remember the longtime commenters, the trolls, the spam and the never-ending (and validating!) pitches and free tickets and photographers' snaps of half- or all-naked male models. 

RuPaul-Drag-RaceShooting for my blog has never been a drag.

Cone-boyI've used Boy Culture to express myself, to help express others and to connect to people internationally.

I've also used it to show off my humor (both high and low), to flaunt my obsessions, to reality-test my sexual diversions and perversions, to laud the art I love, to lash out against the enemies of gay people and to broadcast my admiration for Madonna.

I want to thank you all for having read this blog over the years. It's a very hard thing to maintain, and it will not be maintained forever. But each time I get some positive (or even just meaningful) feedback, each time my posts are shared on social media, each time something I've written elicits a response, it keeps me going that much longer.

Madonna-stepmother-Joan-MDNAMadonna's stepmother was not impressed.

Thank you. Please enjoy my 100 favorite posts, please let me know if you're reading any old ones for the first time and are liking them and, most of all, please share this entire post far and wide to help get my work out there.

**2008 first one 6a00d8341c2ca253ef00e54fdddbfd8833-800wiMy first "Guydar" post from 2008.

As always, you can find me on Facebook (personal and blog), Twitter, Instagram and YouTube (plus, here are my YouTube greatest hits). 

ALL ORANGE TITLES ARE HOTLINKS.

********************

#100

TOTALLY RANDOM LISTS (2011—2013)

I've gotten way into lists. Way. You'll find more of my lists higher up on, uh, this particular list. But the ones that are just completely random go here because I worked my ass off on them, because I love them and because—judging from Quantcast data—you like 'em, too.

********************

DuranMy favorite Duran Duran member.

POP QUIZ: VIDEOS THAT KILLED (2011)

Totally awesome '80s! Take this visual quiz to see how many classic music videos you can ID.

********************

Brando-DeanI wish sex tapes had existed in the '50s.

UNDER THE GAYDAR: 10 PEOPLE YOU MAY OR MAY NOT REALIZE WERE OR ARE QUEER (2012)

I got lots of feedback on this, mainly because nobody realized Nell Carter was with a woman at the time of her death.

********************

DazzlerI would've chipped in to get this one made.

WOULDA COULDA SHOULDA: 5 INCREDIBLE MOVIES THAT NEVER HAPPENED (2013)

I'm shamless for including Leda & Swan, a movie that was a bomb without ever even being made.

********************

Lizabeth-ScottGreat Scott!

IN & OUT: 25 STARS' FIRST & LAST PERFORMANCES IN FILM & ON TV (2013)

Being obsessed with nostalgia and with movies, this was fun—but so very taxing—to compile. I loved the randomness of it.

********************

PSBI hate that music has been sleeveless for 20 years.

20 7" SINGLE SLEEVES FROM THE '80S THAT BELONG IN A GALLERY (2013)

Just 20 from my massive collection of 45s. I got rid of my 12" records, but I've kept these guys because they're just too much a part of my childhood.

********************

Amanda-BlakeAmanda Blake's marriage was a mystery, with both spouses dying of AIDS.

GAY MARRIAGE: CELEBRITIES WHO MARRIED LGBT SPOUSES (2013)

It might've been more efficient to make a list of famous straight people who managed to marry other full-on heteros.

********************

Mark-MessierThe infamous Gary Coleman/Mark Messier two-shot seen 'round the world.

ODD COUPLES: 19 UNUSUAL CELEBRITY PAIRS (2013)

This post encapsulates my outlook on pop culture and my desire to twist it and play with it...except in this case, its participants are already doing the dirty work.

********************

Lake-GenevaHaunted House: The family home that haunted Jane and Bill's final years.

#99

A FIGHT AT THE MUSEUM (2007)

My late mentor's husband struggles to give away his family home.

********************

#98

POLITICS (2005—2013)

I'm a political person and I blog about it a lot. Some of the entries stand up over time, but many are so of the moment it was hard to pull the ones I like best.

******************** 

Kevin-James-Adam-SandlerWhere Kevin James goes, (unintentional!!!) homophobia follows.

TRUNZO IS DUNZO (2007)

Star Magazine implying gay people aren't quite right? Not normal! This took off on several blogs and GLAAD got an apology from Trunzo over it. Some people think it's being "oversensitive," but Jesus...how much clearer is "Man to man" with a huge "NOT" (NORMAL) stamped over it?

 ****************

John-McCainIf McCain calls, I'm not here. 

NEW YORK TO McCAIN: DROP DEAD! (2008)

The time I saw John McCain and showed him exactly how I felt. 

**************** 

6a00d8341c2ca253ef00e54fdcda278833-800wiThe Clintons practice some black magic 

WHITE MISCHIEF (2008)

When Bill and Hillary decided to use race in the race for the White House.

******************** 

Jason-WetheringtonCrist for the mill 

FLORIDA'S GOVERNOR ENGAYGED: DOES THIS COUNT AS "GAY MARRIAGE?" (2008)

Charlie Crist is gay. Really, really gay.

******************** 

Hillary-Clinton-guysThere's always 2016... 

HOW DO I LOVE THEE? LET ME COUNT THE GAYS... (2008)

The gay affair with Hillary Clinton.

******************** 

6a00d8341c2ca253ef00e554e2e7d28834Hail, Mary, full of disgrace

 SARAH PALIN = SPIRO AGNEW + HARRIET MIERS (2008)

Aw, she'll never last...

******************** 

Whoopi-Goldberg-Prop-8Whoopi-tee-doo & Kate, too! 

THE MARRYING KIND (2008)

That fabulously spontaneous anti-Prop 8 march in NYC.

******************** 

Barack-Obama"Fierce advocate" was once a taunt, and is now just true.

WITH US OR AGAINST US (2009)

A post from when the Obama Administration was considered almost openly hostile toward gay-rights advocates. I believe he's turned that impression around.

********************

OBAMA-DADTA good sign

IT GOT BETTER (2010)

The one where President Obama happily signed DADT out of existence.

********************

Sophie-B-HawkinsAs she lays her career down to sleep...

DAMN, I WISH SHE WOULDN'T DO THISI (2011)

Sopie B. Hawkins GOesProud. I wish she'd GOHome.

********************

Merv-Griffin-Tombstone_6I live for death!

#97

OBITUARIES (2009—2012)

I tend to write about almost every celebrity death I hear about, specializing in anyone from the Golden Era. These are two that really blew me away. You, too?

********************

Farrah-FawcettVery hazardous duties

AND JILL CAME TUMBLING AFTER (2009)

The death of Farrah Fawcett, a woman whose nips decorated my walls before I realized I had no use for them.

********************

Elizabeth-taylor-bathing-suitEnd credits

REFLECTIONS IN A VIOLET EYE: ELIZABETH TAYLOR DIES AT 79 (2011)

The biggest living star fades out. It's still hard to believe she isn't around anymore.

********************

Donna-SummerShe worked hard for the money.

LAST DANCE: DONNA SUMMER DIES AT 63 (2012)

I'd spent a long time hating Donna over her alleged anti-gay comments, but that rumor isn't the whole story on her life.

********************

Barbara-KentGood egg

MAKES SAD FACE, MOVES LIPS, TYPE APPEARS ON PANEL: "THE END" (2012)

I was surprised when no major news services noted the death of the last person to have starred in a silent film as an adult, Barbara Kent.

 Read More

 
Nov 04 2013
Her ARTPOP Could Mean Anything: A Review Of Lady Gaga's ARTPOP Comments (0)

ARTPOPImages of ARTPOP packaging from the Internet.

I've now listened to all of Lady Gaga's ARTPOP, which we've been hearing about for a year. My review follows. Warning: If you're a Little Monster, I promise to die of AIDS ASAP, so no need to ask me to. More seriously, this is her first album I kinda hate. I have to write what I feel or there's no point in writing.

To kick things off positively: I think "Gypsy" could be her next bona fide hit and I love "Artpop."

The rest of the review after the jump...

 Read More

 
Oct 28 2013
Gimme The Unusual: A Review Of Cyndi Lauper's SHE'S SO UNUSUAL 30th Anniversary Tour Comments (0)

Cyndi-LauperLauper candidly confessed that producers wanted her fired "the whole first year" of the Kinky Boots writing.

BOY CULTURE RATING: *** out of ****

Went to see Cyndi Lauper last week in Queens—her homeland!—which took planes, trains and Cyndihunterautomobiles to get to. (Okay, just a subway and a bus, but it was almost two hours thanks to construction.)

The venue for her She's So Unusual 30th Anniversary Tour was petite, and while her show was big enough to feature openers (Hunter Valentine), it was small enough that it had a befuddled lady making announcements between sets, just like a Brady Bunch teacher might during callbacks for the school play.

 Read More

 
Sep 18 2013
Together In ELECTRIC Dreams: A Review Of Pet Shop Boys @ The Beacon Comments (0)
  DSC08058
DSC08062
DSC08063
DSC08067
DSC08068
DSC08075
DSC08097
DSC08140
DSC08185
DSC08190
DSC08201
DSC08227
DSC08231
DSC08271
DSC08305
DSC08335
DSC08351
DSC08411
DSC08493
DSC08532
DSC08562
DSC08595
DSC08624
DSC08704

Last night was the Pet Shop Boys' latest concert, in promotion of their mostly brill new album, Electric. Like the title of their latest work, the evening was coursing with dangerous currents, both pleasurable and potentially dangerous.

Sparks flew.

Neil-TennantNeil, before me.

I had sprung for the $95 meet-and-greet, buying it so long ago I almost forgot I had it. Met my good buddy Luigi—whom I'd met four years ago at the last PSB concert I attended when I photographed him in the front row!—beforehand, getting our laminates together. WTF is up with them demanding that VIPs arrive by 4:30PM on a weekday? We are spendthrifts, but we do have dayjobs, Boys.

Anyway, we killed an hour eating before returning for the actual meet-and-greet. They had about 150 (!) fans to meet, but it was handled quite well. We filed into a side door of the venue (the Beacon) and were surprised by Neil and Chris standing just inside the entrance. Most shocking, Chris looked fantastic (having recovered from looking quite ravaged a few years ago) and was smiley and chatty. It's like hearing Teller talk.

 Read More

 
Aug 27 2013
We Are Divo: A Review Of SCOTT NEVINS LIVE Comments (0)

Scott Nevins, that flashy boy from Flushing who abandoned NYC for Los Angeles (traitor!), was back in town with a new stand-up show at the Metropolitan Room, and he was not taking NO for an answer. He wanted me to come, and he wanted me to pay. This was a foreign concept to me. How did one do it...pay...for a show? (In reality, I do it all the time, but I'm definitely spoiled when it comes to shows I intend to review.)

Scott-Nevins-4As a kid, Scott says he shit glitter when he discovered a "Dorothy" from The Wizard of Oz doll.

ScottNevinsLiveNYC2ce5fdWell, I believe in supporting theater, and in supporting talent, and let me tell you, dropping $20 on Scott Nevins is a can't-lose proposition and sounds fun even if no stage is around. His NYC comeback show was sharp, charming and as funny as he is ripped. It's cruel that someone with such prominent abs should be able to incite so many belly laughs, but Nevins, with a combo of scatological humor, family gossip, celebrity dish and self-targeted barbs about his own vanity and love life, does just that.

As funny as his other material was (in particular his tales of growing up in a drunken Irish Catholic family), I was partial to his celebrity observations, as in the shit the little spy noticed while he was working with people like Lisa Vanderpump (or was that "Vandercunt?"), Lorna Luft (a good pal of his now), Carol Channing (he's one of her favorite people once she figures out who the hell he is) and others. In the same way his wit captures their idiosyncrasies, his beautiful singing voice captures Judy Garland—he ended his raucous set by singing relatively contemporary songs like "What's Love Got to Do With It?", "Last Dance," "It's Not Right, But It's Okay" and "Like a Virgin" as Garland, the last of which I recorded and posted above with his kind permission.

 Read More