92 posts categorized "MUSIC REVIEW"

May 15 2014
Gaga Live: You & Deny Comments (0)

Lady-Gaga

Gaga in NYC was shiteous! No, she was everything! (Oh, and without giving her/him a link, the elusive Angela Cheng wrote an offensive, viciously personal attack piece on Norris simply for saying how much he likes Gaga and for calling into question the fantasy figure of $25 million that Cheng asserts Interscope spent on Artpop promo. If you're a Madonna fan who tolerates Cheng, you're a party to that.)

 
May 12 2014
Cher Ecstasy: A Review Of Cher's DRESSED TO KILL TOUR Comments (0)
  CHER DSC05489 copy CHER DSC05520 copy CHER DSC05540 copy CHER DSC05581 copy CHER DSC05581 copy CHER DSC05602 copy CHER DSC05609 copy CHER DSC05619 copy CHER DSC05674 copy CHER DSC05686 copy CHER DSC05743 copy CHER DSC05774 copy CHER DSC05787 copy CHER DSC05814 copy CHER DSC05835 copy CHER DSC05863 copy CHER DSC05899 copy CHER DSC05949 copy CHER DSC06002 copy CHER DSC06008 copy CHER DSC06027 copy CHER DSC06037 copy CHER DSC06047 copy CHER DSC06085 copy CHER DSC06111 copy CHER DSC06230 copy CHER DSC06251 copy CHER DSC06273 copy CHER DSC06284 copy CHER DSC06295 copy CHER DSC06301 copy CHER DSC06338 copy CHER DSC06467 copy CHER DSC06480 copy CHER DSC06483 copy CHER DSC06488 copy CHER DSC06513 copy CHER DSC06571 copy CHER DSC06610 copy CHER DSC06646 copy CHER DSC06699 CHER DSC06717 copy CHER DSC06719 copy

Above: Dozens of Dressed to Kill-er photos!

Continued from here.

BOY CULTURE REVIEW OF CYNDI LAUPER & CHER: ***1/2 out of ****

When Cher took the Dressed to Kill stage, the venue throbbed like the main artery in the middle of the guiltiest pleasure ever. She appeared beneath a gigantic set of pheasant feathers, adorned in more glitzy accoutrements than one could make from an entire discount bead store. And wearing dreads, a la Cleopatra. Her smile had that inimitable “I know, right?” quality that resides midway between intentional camp and an unapologetic love of all things tacky.

CHER DSC05512 copyBird of a feather

The showgirl had arrived.

She opened the concert with “Woman's World,” her mostly dismissed lead single from her latest album, Closer to the Truth. Heard months after its release as a kick-off tune, it sounds a lot better. Like quite a few of the numbers, it was done to track, but was sold hard by Cher via her facial expressions and easy flaunting of her costume.

CHER DSC05569 copyA bold Cher-'do

She segued seamlessly (or, considering that bold costume, seamfully) into her scandalously underplayed 1998 release “Strong Enough,” which was lost on radio in the wake of “Believe.” Her gladiator-garbed backup dancers bounced around the stage with zero of the coolness of most divas' dancers; it wasn't about being cool, it was about being outrageous and flashy and inciting fun.

The projection behind her resembled a cheesy, vintage electronic one-armed bandit in all its 8bit glory.

CHER DSC05668 copySixty-eight???

Probably the least satisfying aspect of the show was the fact that in order to accommodate the myriad of costume changes, Cher spent a lot of time offstage while her dancers distracted us; it felt like there were several instances in which she sang only one song before disappearing to do a medium-quick change. But this allowed for spectacles like what came next, a gaudy, blood-red, vampire-themed “Dressed to Kill,” an album track from the latest CD.

 Read More

 
May 11 2014
I'll Say!: Cyndi Lauper (With An Assist From Liza Minnelli & Rosie O'Donnell) Opens For Cher Comments (0)
  Cyndi Lauper DSC05432 copy Cyndi Lauper DSC05199 Cyndi Lauper DSC05285 copy Cyndi Lauper DSC05319 copy Cyndi Lauper DSC05340 copy Cyndi Lauper DSC05343 copy Cyndi Lauper DSC05347 copy

7, count 'em, 7 Cyndi snaps in the gallery above

Cher review is here.

I've never seen a full Cher concert. #gayshame Or rather, I'd never seen one—until Friday, when I rectified that grave oversight.

I loved Cher when I was a kid, staying up past my bedtime to watch her endlessly entertaining, kitschapalooza of a variety show with Sonny, then lost interest when her promising acting career (Come Back to the Five and Dime, Jimmy Dean, Jimmy Dean and Silkwood are amazing) became a bit mainstream for my taste. I snapped out of my Cher love when she hit her schlock-rock/infomercial/Madonna-bashing phase.

Cyndi Lauper DSC05276 copyBitch is so grounded, she does her own lighting!

But over the years, Cher has won me back time and again. I personally don't see her as a compelling artist so much as a true original, which can be just as transfixing and important in its own way. She is a personality always worth listening to and watching. And I've thoroughly enjoyed both her Twitter proclamations and her post-“Believe” disco, the latter of which I believe is far superior to at least some of the music she made during the original Disco Era.

 Read More

 
Apr 09 2014
Better Than Sexxx: A Review Of Lady Gaga @ Roseland (RIP) Comments (0)
Lady GagaImage courtesy of Emaline Tisserand
 
The following review is from Boy Culture reader and my fave Little Monster, Sean O'Connor.
 
It’s been a rough few months as a devoted fan of Lady Gaga.

Her new album ARTPOP was already being called ARTFLOP before anyone had heard it. Despite the fact that “Applause,” the first single, spent 14 weeks in Billboard’s Top Ten, the prevailing wisdom has been that the Lady was over. A disappointing first-week debut on the Billboard charts (albeit at #1) comparable with her contemporaries (but spectacularly far off from the debut of her previous album) seemed to confirm the worst fears of her fans and the joyous predictions of her detractors.

“Do What U Want”—one of the strongest numbers on an unfairly maligned album—proved a non-starter. The misguided decision to work with R. Kelly may have had something to do with this. Gaga’s late remix with Christina Aguilera, an eminently more satisfying version boosted by the fact that the two divas were former rivals, was too late to salvage the song.

Thus we come to her latest single “G.U.Y.” and her residence at Roseland Ballroom to mark the closing of the famous venue. At over 30 million views since its release and on the eve of the single’s official debut on radio, it’s too early to tell how the song will or will not grow. But any thought of being a flop was miles away from Gaga’s performance on Friday, April 4.

She was positively electrifying.

 Read More

 
Jan 29 2014
Like 2 Rhinestone Cowgirls: Madonna & Miley Shimmy & Shine Comments (0)

Madonna-MileyImage from one of the best Madonna Tumblrs alive.

If Madonna didn't look pretty damn good to you in Miley's Unplugged special, I'm not sure what you expect from a 55-year-old hussy. I thought she looked great, and they sounded good together and had fun. Miley was so excited, which was infectious. I love that Madonna just humbly jumped up and did it with no diva entrance. That half-broken foot must have been killing her.

 Read More

 
Dec 28 2013
Need To Know: Putting The Nasty In DUCK DYNASTY, Turing And After, Stumped Speech, Straight Talk + MORE! Comments (0)

Tumblr_inline_mo5nolV6OI1qz4rgpAs was expected from the beginning, this was a huge win for cretins everywhere.

*widget boy cultureA&E wimps out, reinstates Phil Robertson, provides lip service to diversity.

*widget boy cultureA little light reading: 1,000s of Newtown Massacre docs released.

*widget boy cultureGay codebreaker Alan Turing's corpse gets a pardon.

*widget boy cultureI know why the caged popstar doesn't sing.

*widget boy cultureThe ultimate dialect quiz. Hint: Merry, marry & Mary RHYME.

*widget boy cultureIwan Rheon's beauty is a thing.

Anigif_enhanced-buzz-22605-1380907733-28Just Iwan me, kid.

*widget boy cultureA peek at the animated features of 2014.

*widget boy cultureNorth West has more shoes than her parents have brain cells.

*widget boy cultureCelebrating the holidays with sexxxy underwear.

*widget boy cultureThe (surprisingly busy) year in Madonna.

*widget boy cultureWe totally won on gay marriage. Totally.

*widget boy cultureAre gay-for-pay guys really straight?

Reese-rideout-vh1Remember, they're gay for the pay, not gay for the gays.

 
Dec 27 2013
The Not-A-Peep Show Comments (0)

Britney-Spears

Despite the lip-synching jab in my title (hey, even her most ardent fan pointed out it's "painfully" obvious there is way more track than Brit-Brit in the show!), the first review of Britney's Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino residency is breathlessly enthusiastic. Even if it is written by her fan club, it's thorough and does a good job of making the show sound like the opposite of Wayne Newton.

Are you going?

 
Dec 02 2013
Boy Culture Turns 8: My 100 Favorite Posts! Comments (0)

BoyCultureBlogYou need a little (Boy) Culture!

StripperIt blows my mind to realize that Boy Culture is now eight years old. I can still remember the joy I felt when I figured out how to post, how to upload an image and how to embed a video. I remember every time a post blew up, bringing in hits and new viewers. I remember the longtime commenters, the trolls, the spam and the never-ending (and validating!) pitches and free tickets and photographers' snaps of half- or all-naked male models. 

RuPaul-Drag-RaceShooting for my blog has never been a drag.

Cone-boyI've used Boy Culture to express myself, to help express others and to connect to people internationally.

I've also used it to show off my humor (both high and low), to flaunt my obsessions, to reality-test my sexual diversions and perversions, to laud the art I love, to lash out against the enemies of gay people and to broadcast my admiration for Madonna.

I want to thank you all for having read this blog over the years. It's a very hard thing to maintain, and it will not be maintained forever. But each time I get some positive (or even just meaningful) feedback, each time my posts are shared on social media, each time something I've written elicits a response, it keeps me going that much longer.

Madonna-stepmother-Joan-MDNAMadonna's stepmother was not impressed.

Thank you. Please enjoy my 100 favorite posts, please let me know if you're reading any old ones for the first time and are liking them and, most of all, please share this entire post far and wide to help get my work out there.

**2008 first one 6a00d8341c2ca253ef00e54fdddbfd8833-800wiMy first "Guydar" post from 2008.

As always, you can find me on Facebook (personal and blog), Twitter, Instagram and YouTube (plus, here are my YouTube greatest hits). 

ALL ORANGE TITLES ARE HOTLINKS.

********************

#100

TOTALLY RANDOM LISTS (2011—2013)

I've gotten way into lists. Way. You'll find more of my lists higher up on, uh, this particular list. But the ones that are just completely random go here because I worked my ass off on them, because I love them and because—judging from Quantcast data—you like 'em, too.

********************

DuranMy favorite Duran Duran member.

POP QUIZ: VIDEOS THAT KILLED (2011)

Totally awesome '80s! Take this visual quiz to see how many classic music videos you can ID.

********************

Brando-DeanI wish sex tapes had existed in the '50s.

UNDER THE GAYDAR: 10 PEOPLE YOU MAY OR MAY NOT REALIZE WERE OR ARE QUEER (2012)

I got lots of feedback on this, mainly because nobody realized Nell Carter was with a woman at the time of her death.

********************

DazzlerI would've chipped in to get this one made.

WOULDA COULDA SHOULDA: 5 INCREDIBLE MOVIES THAT NEVER HAPPENED (2013)

I'm shamless for including Leda & Swan, a movie that was a bomb without ever even being made.

********************

Lizabeth-ScottGreat Scott!

IN & OUT: 25 STARS' FIRST & LAST PERFORMANCES IN FILM & ON TV (2013)

Being obsessed with nostalgia and with movies, this was fun—but so very taxing—to compile. I loved the randomness of it.

********************

PSBI hate that music has been sleeveless for 20 years.

20 7" SINGLE SLEEVES FROM THE '80S THAT BELONG IN A GALLERY (2013)

Just 20 from my massive collection of 45s. I got rid of my 12" records, but I've kept these guys because they're just too much a part of my childhood.

********************

Amanda-BlakeAmanda Blake's marriage was a mystery, with both spouses dying of AIDS.

GAY MARRIAGE: CELEBRITIES WHO MARRIED LGBT SPOUSES (2013)

It might've been more efficient to make a list of famous straight people who managed to marry other full-on heteros.

********************

Mark-MessierThe infamous Gary Coleman/Mark Messier two-shot seen 'round the world.

ODD COUPLES: 19 UNUSUAL CELEBRITY PAIRS (2013)

This post encapsulates my outlook on pop culture and my desire to twist it and play with it...except in this case, its participants are already doing the dirty work.

********************

Lake-GenevaHaunted House: The family home that haunted Jane and Bill's final years.

#99

A FIGHT AT THE MUSEUM (2007)

My late mentor's husband struggles to give away his family home.

********************

#98

POLITICS (2005—2013)

I'm a political person and I blog about it a lot. Some of the entries stand up over time, but many are so of the moment it was hard to pull the ones I like best.

******************** 

Kevin-James-Adam-SandlerWhere Kevin James goes, (unintentional!!!) homophobia follows.

TRUNZO IS DUNZO (2007)

Star Magazine implying gay people aren't quite right? Not normal! This took off on several blogs and GLAAD got an apology from Trunzo over it. Some people think it's being "oversensitive," but Jesus...how much clearer is "Man to man" with a huge "NOT" (NORMAL) stamped over it?

 ****************

John-McCainIf McCain calls, I'm not here. 

NEW YORK TO McCAIN: DROP DEAD! (2008)

The time I saw John McCain and showed him exactly how I felt. 

**************** 

6a00d8341c2ca253ef00e54fdcda278833-800wiThe Clintons practice some black magic 

WHITE MISCHIEF (2008)

When Bill and Hillary decided to use race in the race for the White House.

******************** 

Jason-WetheringtonCrist for the mill 

FLORIDA'S GOVERNOR ENGAYGED: DOES THIS COUNT AS "GAY MARRIAGE?" (2008)

Charlie Crist is gay. Really, really gay.

******************** 

Hillary-Clinton-guysThere's always 2016... 

HOW DO I LOVE THEE? LET ME COUNT THE GAYS... (2008)

The gay affair with Hillary Clinton.

******************** 

6a00d8341c2ca253ef00e554e2e7d28834Hail, Mary, full of disgrace

 SARAH PALIN = SPIRO AGNEW + HARRIET MIERS (2008)

Aw, she'll never last...

******************** 

Whoopi-Goldberg-Prop-8Whoopi-tee-doo & Kate, too! 

THE MARRYING KIND (2008)

That fabulously spontaneous anti-Prop 8 march in NYC.

******************** 

Barack-Obama"Fierce advocate" was once a taunt, and is now just true.

WITH US OR AGAINST US (2009)

A post from when the Obama Administration was considered almost openly hostile toward gay-rights advocates. I believe he's turned that impression around.

********************

OBAMA-DADTA good sign

IT GOT BETTER (2010)

The one where President Obama happily signed DADT out of existence.

********************

Sophie-B-HawkinsAs she lays her career down to sleep...

DAMN, I WISH SHE WOULDN'T DO THISI (2011)

Sopie B. Hawkins GOesProud. I wish she'd GOHome.

********************

Merv-Griffin-Tombstone_6I live for death!

#97

OBITUARIES (2009—2012)

I tend to write about almost every celebrity death I hear about, specializing in anyone from the Golden Era. These are two that really blew me away. You, too?

********************

Farrah-FawcettVery hazardous duties

AND JILL CAME TUMBLING AFTER (2009)

The death of Farrah Fawcett, a woman whose nips decorated my walls before I realized I had no use for them.

********************

Elizabeth-taylor-bathing-suitEnd credits

REFLECTIONS IN A VIOLET EYE: ELIZABETH TAYLOR DIES AT 79 (2011)

The biggest living star fades out. It's still hard to believe she isn't around anymore.

********************

Donna-SummerShe worked hard for the money.

LAST DANCE: DONNA SUMMER DIES AT 63 (2012)

I'd spent a long time hating Donna over her alleged anti-gay comments, but that rumor isn't the whole story on her life.

********************

Barbara-KentGood egg

MAKES SAD FACE, MOVES LIPS, TYPE APPEARS ON PANEL: "THE END" (2012)

I was surprised when no major news services noted the death of the last person to have starred in a silent film as an adult, Barbara Kent.

 Read More

 
Nov 04 2013
Her ARTPOP Could Mean Anything: A Review Of Lady Gaga's ARTPOP Comments (0)

ARTPOPImages of ARTPOP packaging from the Internet.

I've now listened to all of Lady Gaga's ARTPOP, which we've been hearing about for a year. My review follows. Warning: If you're a Little Monster, I promise to die of AIDS ASAP, so no need to ask me to. More seriously, this is her first album I kinda hate. I have to write what I feel or there's no point in writing.

To kick things off positively: I think "Gypsy" could be her next bona fide hit and I love "Artpop."

The rest of the review after the jump...

 Read More

 
Oct 28 2013
Gimme The Unusual: A Review Of Cyndi Lauper's SHE'S SO UNUSUAL 30th Anniversary Tour Comments (0)

Cyndi-LauperLauper candidly confessed that producers wanted her fired "the whole first year" of the Kinky Boots writing.

BOY CULTURE RATING: *** out of ****

Went to see Cyndi Lauper last week in Queens—her homeland!—which took planes, trains and Cyndihunterautomobiles to get to. (Okay, just a subway and a bus, but it was almost two hours thanks to construction.)

The venue for her She's So Unusual 30th Anniversary Tour was petite, and while her show was big enough to feature openers (Hunter Valentine), it was small enough that it had a befuddled lady making announcements between sets, just like a Brady Bunch teacher might during callbacks for the school play.

 Read More