Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger... boy culture: THEATRE REVIEW

101 posts categorized "THEATRE REVIEW"

Nov 16 2017
Coke Classic: A Review Of BRIGHT COLORS AND BOLD PATTERNS Comments (0)

Screen Shot 2017-11-16 at 10.44.45 AMDrew Droege (Image by Russ Rowland, rrsnapshop.com)

My friend was so sure I'd love Drew Droege's one-man show Bright Colors and Bold Patterns, directed by Michael Urie, that he aggressively bought me a ticket and escorted me to the Soho Playhouse to ensure that I'd stop blogging for an evening and get this thing watched.

Read More

 
Oct 06 2017
Terms Of Impeachment: A Review of Michael Moore On Broadway Comments (0)

IMG_2766Caught Michael Moore: The Terms of My Surrender on Broadway tonight — what a surprisingly optimistic and entertaining show.

As many times as I have seen Moore in the public square, it's never sunk in how brashly entertaining he is. Just standing onstage talking, he displays a true gift for storytelling outside the medium of film.

He also lays off any Hillary bashing, even though some of the audience probably would have eaten it up ...

Read More

 
Aug 14 2017
6-PACK — Jackie Pulls A Joan + Man Arrested For Plotting To Bomb Oklahoma City + WHEN PIGS FLY Again! + Sessions Gets What Domestic Terrorism Is + Biz Leaders Abandon Trump + Demonstrators Pull Down Monument To Confederacy! Comments (0)

Screen Shot 2017-08-14 at 9.23.10 PMJackie Hoffman of Feud is pulling  Joan Crawford, phoning all her Emmy rivals, offering to accept on their behalf in the eventuality that any of the other women win:

Is this Laura Dern, Miss Laura Dern? Bruce! Bruce Dern. Are you taking all of Laura's calls? Oh, you work for her.

Keep reading for this and some other hot links including Jeff Sessions using the phrase Trump never, ever will ...

Read More

 
HOLE 'Nother Level: New Andy Halliday Play Opening In NYC Comments (0)

Screen Shot 2017-08-14 at 3.23.45 PMQuinn Coughlin (Images via Theater for the New City)

Theater for the New City presents Up the Rabbit Hole by Andy Halliday in NYC. Previews begin September 21. Keep reading for more ...

Read More

 
Aug 01 2017
Hummer Camp: A Review Of CAMP WANATACHI Comments (0)

8205ad3d6e7b1a3ec746320f6cd33853_f4804Last night, I caught Camp Wanatachi: In Concert, an official selection of the 2017 New York Music Festical (NYMF) — and I'm so blessed that I did!

Keep reading for my take on this weird and wonderful story of girls discovering who they are at Christian camp ...

Read More

 
Jul 27 2017
Waiting For You: A Review Of THE WAITING GAME Comments (0)

IMG_6583I had the pleasure of seeing Charles Gershman's The Waiting Game, directed by Nathan Wright, at 59E59 last night, as part of the East to Edinburgh preview of plays heading to the Edinburgh Fringe.

Short — just an hour — it is the mercurial story of two men battling for the moral high ground after the lover they shared, Sam (Ibsen Santos), has long been on life support following a drug overdose. Keep reading for a full review of the sexy gay play ...

Read More

 
Jul 14 2017
Your Place Or Ours?: A Review Of AFTERGLOW Comments (0)

Screen Shot 2017-07-13 at 11.32.09 PMBrandon Haagenson & Patrick Reilly: What's missing from this picture? (Imagesvia AfterglowThePlay.com)

Afterglow, S. Asher Gelman's emotional play about polyamory, is ironically titled; Aftershock would be more like it, considering how things go when its central couple splinters following a no-holds-barred threesome with a new pal.

Josh (Brandon Haagenson) and Alex (Robbie Simpson) are a privileged married pair, Josh a director so successful his husband wouldn't have to work if he didn't want to, and Alex an industrious would-be chemist. They've paid a surrogate to carry their presumably perfect baby because they think they're genetically gifted, or so they joke ... or so they say they joke. At one point, Josh says to his husband, “We're young and hot,” in the context of wondering why they don't have even more sex than they already do, and he also marvels at how he's in the best shape of his life.

It's hard to love these guys immediately.

Read More

 
Jun 30 2017
Hedy First — A Review Of HEDY!: THE LIFE & INVENTIONS OF HEDY LAMARR Comments (0)

Hedy-lamarrHedy & Hedy (Image by Matthew Rettenmund)

I was able to catch HEDY!: The Life & Inventions of Hedy Lamarr, written and performed as a one-woman show by Heather Massie, here in NYC last night.

The show  — playing tonight at 5:15 p.m. — benefits the Intrepid Sea, 5904c5e51400002600a9c946 Air & Space Museum's GOALS for Girls Program, which is fitting since its subject is a Hollywood beauty icon who is becoming more properly known for her incredibly important frequency hopping invention.

In the show, Lamarr addresses the captive audience, narrating the story of her life in Austria, rise to fame in Hollywood, her many marriages, and — most importantly — a bit about how her WWII-time invention would go on to become the basis for so much of what we use today, including cellphones, WiFi, Bluetooth, GPS and many military applications.

As Hedy tells it, her invention could have ended WWII without nuclear weapons had the U.S. taken it seriously at the time. Instead, the government waited until the invention was theirs to use — with no compensation for Lamarr or her co-inventor George Antheil.

HEDY! is an informative piece, albeit one that lacks sufficient drama. Too often, it feels like a Wikipedia entry brought to life. It works best when Massie, who captures Lamarr's kooky grandeur and cerebral air, jokes with the audience, and pokes fun at herself. Was the real Lamarr so convivial? I don't know. But she was definitely ahead of her time.

Check it out here.

 
// Fix responsive height for YouTube