Previous Next 

Feb 02 2021
Pete Buttigieg: First Out LGBTQ Cabinet Member Approved By Senate Comments (0)

Gay-lgbt-boyculture-hrc-PeteButtigieg_Congrats_Imageshare_Confirmed_012121_1200x630History made (Image via HRC)

In a historic first, the Senate has voted 86-13 to confirm Pete Buttigieg as transportation secretary.

With the vote, he becomes the first out LGBTQ person confirmed by the Senate for a Cabinet post.

One senator did not vote: Pat Toomey (R-Pennsylvania)

The naysaying senators:

Marsha Blackburn (R-Mississippi)

Bill Cassidy (R-Louisiana)

Tom Cotton (R-Arkansas)

Ted Cruz (R-Texas)

Bill Hagerty (R-Tennessee)

Josh Hawley (R-Missouri)

James Lankford (R-Oklahoma)

Roger Marshall (R-Kansas)

Marco Rubio (R-Florida)

Rick Scott (R-Florida)

Tim Scott (R-South Carolina)

Richard Shelby (R-Alabama)

Tommy Tuberville (R-Arkansas)